A Little Challenge

Alfred James Munnings, "A Cloud Study"
Alfred James Munnings, “A Cloud Study”

Today’s poem is the result of a challenge. It was supposed to be a happy poem, so hopefully it manages to bring out a more cheerful mood.

(DAY 29)

Softer

That day when the clouds
had broken my wings
you moulded hands
out of the dirt
on the sidewalk
so huge and warm
I thought I had fallen
the wrong way down
back into the heart
of my mother. You
let me dream
until I was full enough
to peel off my eyelids
and make sense
of your smile. I
never thought
about the clouds
after that,
because I learned
even your teeth
were softer.

Leave a Reply

